"Each State shall appoint, in such Manner as the Legislature thereof may direct, a Number of Electors ..." -- U.S. Constitution
Ask your legislators to pass National Popular Vote

Endorsed by 2,110
State Legislators
In addition to 1,129 state legislative sponsors (shown above), 981 other legislators have cast recorded votes in favor of the National Popular Vote bill.
Progress by State

Tom Golisano

Entrepreneur Tom Golisano Endorses National Popular Vote

Short Explanation
The National Popular Vote bill would guarantee a majority of the Electoral College to the presidential candidate who receives the most popular votes in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. The bill would reform the Electoral College so that the electoral vote in the Electoral College reflects the choice of the nation's voters for President of the United States.   more
11 Enactments
The National Popular Vote bill has been enacted into law in states possessing 165 electoral votes — 61% of the 270 electoral votes needed to activate the legislation.

  • Maryland - 10 votes
  • Massachusetts - 11
  • Washington - 12 votes
  • Vermont - 3 votes
  • Rhode Island - 4 votes
  • DC - 3 votes
  • Hawaii - 4 votes
  • New Jersey - 14 votes
  • Illinois - 20 votes
  • New York - 29 votes
  • California - 55 votes

  • Videos

    Fox Interview

    CBS Video

    Popular Vote

    Class Election

    more videos

    Advisory Board
    John Anderson (R-I–IL)
    Birch Bayh (D–IN)
    John Buchanan (R–AL)
    Tom Campbell (R–CA)
    Tom Downey (D–NY)
    D. Durenberger (R–MN)
    Jake Garn (R–UT)
    What Do You Think
    How should we elect the President?
    The candidate who gets the most votes in all 50 states.
    The current Electoral College system.

    Add this poll to your web site
    2,110 State Legislators are Sponsors of the National Popular Vote Bill or Have Cast Recorded Votes in Favor of the Bill
    May 8, 2011

    The National Popular Vote bill now has 1,129 sponsors in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. In addition, 981 other state legislators have cast a recorded vote in favor of the legislation (either in committee or on the floor of their respective legislative chambers).

    The sponsors of the bill are shown at top of left column of this web page and the additional legislators who have cast a recorded vote in favor of the bill are shown below.

    National Popular Vote is currently in discussions with legislators who may sponsor the National Popular Vote bill in the remaining states. To see status of the National Popular Bill in any state, click on the clickable map on our home page or go to the "States" page.

    The National Popular Vote bill would enact the proposed interstate compact entitled the "Agreement Among the States to Elect the President by National Popular Vote." The National Popular Vote bill would guarantee the election of the presidential candidate who receives the most popular votes in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.    Explanation

    Click to see individual states:

    Rhode Island

    Rhode Island Senator Stephen D. Alves

    Rhode Island Senator Frank A. Ciccone, III

    Rhode Island Senator Walter S. Felag, Jr

    Rhode Island Senator Paul W. Fogarty

    Rhode Island Senator Daniel J. Issa

    Rhode Island Senator Beatrice A. Lanzi

    Rhode Island Senator Charles J. Levesque

    Rhode Island Senator Christopher B. Maselli

    Rhode Island Senator John F. McBurney, III

    Rhode Island Senator Michael J. McCaffrey

    Rhode Island Senator Harold M. Metts

    Rhode Island Senator Joshua Miller

    Rhode Island Senator Joseph A. Montalbano

    Rhode Island Senator Paul E. Moura

    Rhode Island Senator M. Teresa Paiva-Weed

    Rhode Island Senator Rhoda E. Perry

    Rhode Island Senator Juan M. Pichardo

    Rhode Island Senator Leonidis P. Raptakis

    Rhode Island Senator John C. Revens, Jr

    Rhode Island Senator Dominick J. Ruggerio

    Rhode Island Senator V. Susan Sosnowski

    Rhode Island Senator John J. Tassoni, Jr

    Rhode Island Senator William A. Walaska

    Rhode Island Rep. Agostinho F. Silva

    Rhode Island Rep. Amy G. Rice

    Rhode Island Rep. Anastasia P. Williams

    Rhode Island Rep. Brian Patrick Kennedy

    Rhode Island Rep. Charlene M. Lima

    Rhode Island Rep. Deborah A. Fellela

    Rhode Island Rep. Donna M. Walsh

    Rhode Island Rep. Douglas W. Gablinske

    Rhode Island Rep. Eileen Slattery Naughton

    Rhode Island Rep. Elaine A. Coderre

    Rhode Island Rep. Elizabeth M. Dennigan

    Rhode Island Rep. Frank G. Ferri

    Rhode Island Rep. Gordon D. Fox

    Rhode Island Rep. Grace Diaz

    Rhode Island Rep. Henry C. Rose

    Rhode Island Rep. J. Patrick O'Neill

    Rhode Island Rep. Jan P. Malik

    Rhode Island Rep. Joanne M. Giannini

    Rhode Island Rep. John J. McCauley, Jr

    Rhode Island Rep. John P. Shanley, Jr

    Rhode Island Rep. Joseph M. McNamara

    Rhode Island Rep. Joseph N. Amaral

    Rhode Island Rep. Joseph S. Almeida

    Rhode Island Rep. Kenneth A. Vaudreuil

    Rhode Island Rep. Lisa Baldelli-Hunt

    Rhode Island Rep. Peter G. Palumbo

    Rhode Island Rep. Peter L. Lewiss

    Rhode Island Rep. Peter N. Wasylyk

    Rhode Island Rep. Raymond C. Church

    Rhode Island Rep. Raymond J. Sullivan, Jr

    Rhode Island Rep. Stephen R. Ucci

    Rhode Island Rep. Steven M. Costantino

    Rhode Island Rep. Thomas C. Slater

    Rhode Island Rep. Timothy A. Williamson

    Rhode Island Rep. Victor G. Moffitt

    Rhode Island Rep. William J. Murphy

    Rhode Island Rep. William San Bento, Jr

    Reform the Electoral College so that the electoral vote reflects the nationwide popular vote for President