"Each State shall appoint, in such Manner as the Legislature thereof may direct, a Number of Electors ..." -- U.S. Constitution
Ask your legislators to pass National Popular Vote

Endorsed by 2,110
State Legislators
In addition to 1,129 state legislative sponsors (shown above), 981 other legislators have cast recorded votes in favor of the National Popular Vote bill.
Progress by State

Tom Golisano

Entrepreneur Tom Golisano Endorses National Popular Vote

Short Explanation
The National Popular Vote bill would guarantee a majority of the Electoral College to the presidential candidate who receives the most popular votes in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. The bill would reform the Electoral College so that the electoral vote in the Electoral College reflects the choice of the nation's voters for President of the United States.   more
11 Enactments
The National Popular Vote bill has been enacted into law in states possessing 165 electoral votes — 61% of the 270 electoral votes needed to activate the legislation.

  • Maryland - 10 votes
  • Massachusetts - 11
  • Washington - 12 votes
  • Vermont - 3 votes
  • Rhode Island - 4 votes
  • DC - 3 votes
  • Hawaii - 4 votes
  • New Jersey - 14 votes
  • Illinois - 20 votes
  • New York - 29 votes
  • California - 55 votes

  • Videos

    Fox Interview

    CBS Video

    Popular Vote

    Class Election

    more videos

    Advisory Board
    John Anderson (R-I–IL)
    Birch Bayh (D–IN)
    John Buchanan (R–AL)
    Tom Campbell (R–CA)
    Tom Downey (D–NY)
    D. Durenberger (R–MN)
    Jake Garn (R–UT)
    What Do You Think
    How should we elect the President?
    The candidate who gets the most votes in all 50 states.
    The current Electoral College system.

    Add this poll to your web site
    2,110 State Legislators are Sponsors of the National Popular Vote Bill or Have Cast Recorded Votes in Favor of the Bill
    May 8, 2011

    The National Popular Vote bill now has 1,129 sponsors in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. In addition, 981 other state legislators have cast a recorded vote in favor of the legislation (either in committee or on the floor of their respective legislative chambers).

    The sponsors of the bill are shown at top of left column of this web page and the additional legislators who have cast a recorded vote in favor of the bill are shown below.

    National Popular Vote is currently in discussions with legislators who may sponsor the National Popular Vote bill in the remaining states. To see status of the National Popular Bill in any state, click on the clickable map on our home page or go to the "States" page.

    The National Popular Vote bill would enact the proposed interstate compact entitled the "Agreement Among the States to Elect the President by National Popular Vote." The National Popular Vote bill would guarantee the election of the presidential candidate who receives the most popular votes in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.    Explanation

    Click to see individual states:


    Maryland Del. Adrienne A. Jones

    Maryland Del. Ana Sol Gutierrez

    Maryland Del. Ann Marie Dorry

    Maryland Del. Anne Healey

    Maryland Del. Anne R. Kaiser

    Maryland Del. Barbara Frush

    Maryland Del. Barbara Robinson

    Maryland Del. Ben Barnes

    Maryland Del. Brian J. Feldman

    Maryland Del. Brian K. McHale

    Maryland Del. Carolyn J. Krysiak

    Maryland Del. Charles Barkley

    Maryland Del. Curt Anderson

    Maryland Del. Dan K. Morhaim

    Maryland Del. Dana Stein

    Maryland Del. Dereck E. Davis

    Maryland Del. Doyle L. Niemann

    Maryland Del. Elizabeth Bobo

    Maryland Del. Frank M. Conaway

    Maryland Del. Galen R. Clagett

    Maryland Del. Guy Guzzone

    Maryland Del. Hattie N. Harrison

    Maryland Del. Heather Mizeur

    Maryland Del. Henry B. Heller

    Maryland Del. Herman L. Taylor, Jr.

    Maryland Del. James E. Proctor

    Maryland Del. James W. Hubbard

    Maryland Del. Jane E. Lawton

    Maryland Del. Jay Walker

    Maryland Del. Jeff Waldstreicher

    Maryland Del. Jill P. Carter

    Maryland Del. Jim Gilchrist

    Maryland Del. Joanne C. Benson

    Maryland Del. John P. Donaghue

    Maryland Del. Jolene Ivey

    Maryland Del. Jon S. Cardin

    Maryland Del. Joseline Pena-Melnyk

    Maryland Del. Joseph F. Vallario

    Maryland Del. Justin D. Ross

    Maryland Del. Karen S. Montgomery

    Maryland Del. Kathleen M. Dumais

    Maryland Del. Keith E. Haynes

    Maryland Del. Kevin Kelly

    Maryland Del. Kris Valderrama

    Maryland Del. Maggie McIntosh

    Maryland Del. Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.

    Maryland Del. Mary Ann E. Love

    Maryland Del. Melony G. Griffith

    Maryland Del. Melvin Stukes

    Maryland Del. Michael E. Busch

    Maryland Del. Michael L. Vaughn

    Maryland Del. Murray D. Levy

    Maryland Del. Nathaniel T. Oaks

    Maryland Del. Pamela Beidle

    Maryland Del. Peter A. Hammen

    Maryland Del. Peter Murphy

    Maryland Del. Roger Manno

    Maryland Del. Rona E. Kramer

    Maryland Del. Rudolph C. Cane

    Maryland Del. Ruth M. Kirk

    Maryland Del. Samuel I. Rosenberg

    Maryland Del. Saqib Ali

    Maryland Del. Shane E. Pendergrass

    Maryland Del. Shawn Z. Tarrant

    Maryland Del. Shirley Nathan-Pilliam

    Maryland Del. Stephen W. Lafferty

    Maryland Del. Sue Hecht

    Maryland Del. Sue Kullen

    Maryland Del. Susan C. Lee

    Maryland Del. Talmadge Branch

    Maryland Del. Tawanna P. Gaines

    Maryland Del. Todd Schuler

    Maryland Del. Tom Hucker

    Maryland Del. Tony McConkey

    Maryland Del. Veronica Turner

    Maryland Del. Victor R. Ramirez

    Maryland Del. Virginia Clagett

    Maryland Del. William A. Bronrott

    Maryland Senator Bobby A. Zirkin

    Maryland Senator Brian E. Frosh

    Maryland Senator C. Anthongy Muse

    Maryland Senator Delores G. Kelley

    Maryland Senator Douglas J.J. Peters

    Maryland Senator Edward J. Kasemeyer

    Maryland Senator Gwendolyn Britt

    Maryland Senator James E. DeGrange

    Maryland Senator James N. Robey

    Maryland Senator Jennie M. Forehand

    Maryland Senator Jim Rosapepe

    Maryland Senator Joan Carter Conway

    Maryland Senator John C. Astle

    Maryland Senator Katherine Klausmeier

    Maryland Senator Lisa A. Gladden

    Maryland Senator Nathaniel Exum

    Maryland Senator Nathaniel J. McFadden

    Maryland Senator Norman R. Stone, Jr.

    Maryland Senator Paul G.Pinsky

    Maryland Senator Richard S. Madaleno

    Maryland Senator Rob Garagiola

    Maryland Senator Rona E. Kramer

    Maryland Senator Roy P. Dyson

    Maryland Senator Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr.

    Maryland Senator Ulysses Currie

    Maryland Senator Verna L. Jones

    Reform the Electoral College so that the electoral vote reflects the nationwide popular vote for President