"Each State shall appoint, in such Manner as the Legislature thereof may direct, a Number of Electors ..." -- U.S. Constitution
Ask your legislators to pass National Popular Vote

Endorsed by 2,110
State Legislators
In addition to 1,129 state legislative sponsors (shown above), 981 other legislators have cast recorded votes in favor of the National Popular Vote bill.
Progress by State

Tom Golisano

Entrepreneur Tom Golisano Endorses National Popular Vote

Short Explanation
The National Popular Vote bill would guarantee a majority of the Electoral College to the presidential candidate who receives the most popular votes in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. The bill would reform the Electoral College so that the electoral vote in the Electoral College reflects the choice of the nation's voters for President of the United States.   more
11 Enactments
The National Popular Vote bill has been enacted into law in states possessing 165 electoral votes — 61% of the 270 electoral votes needed to activate the legislation.

  • Maryland - 10 votes
  • Massachusetts - 11
  • Washington - 12 votes
  • Vermont - 3 votes
  • Rhode Island - 4 votes
  • DC - 3 votes
  • Hawaii - 4 votes
  • New Jersey - 14 votes
  • Illinois - 20 votes
  • New York - 29 votes
  • California - 55 votes

  • Videos

    Fox Interview

    CBS Video

    Popular Vote

    Class Election

    more videos

    Advisory Board
    John Anderson (R-I–IL)
    Birch Bayh (D–IN)
    John Buchanan (R–AL)
    Tom Campbell (R–CA)
    Tom Downey (D–NY)
    D. Durenberger (R–MN)
    Jake Garn (R–UT)
    What Do You Think
    How should we elect the President?
    The candidate who gets the most votes in all 50 states.
    The current Electoral College system.

    Add this poll to your web site
    Omaha World-Herald
    Electoral vote split survives
    By Martha Stoddard
    March 10, 2011

    LINCOLN — Nebraska will keep its split electoral vote system for at least another year, thanks to a split vote in a legislative committee.

    The Government, Military and Veterans Affairs Committee was divided 4–4 in a straw vote on changing the system, State Sen. Bill Avery of Lincoln, the committee chairman, said Thursday.

    The informal vote marked the latest defeat for Republican efforts to return Nebraska to a winner-take-all system of awarding electoral votes.

    Sen. Beau McCoy of Omaha introduced the latest proposal, Legislative Bill 21.

    Since 1991, three of Nebraska's five votes have been decided by congressional district. The two others go to the winner of the statewide popular vote.

    During the 2008 presidential election, Nebraska became the first state in modern times to split its electoral votes.

    The vote representing the Omaha-area 2nd District went to Barack Obama, the Democratic presidential candidate, while the two other districts' went to Republican John McCain.

    In other action, the committee advanced a watered-down version of a bill requiring that most voters show identification before casting a ballot.

    As amended, LB 239 would require voters to show government-issued photo identification or a voter registration acknowledgment notice.

    The notices are postcards or letters mailed when people first register to vote or change their registration for any reason.

    Under the bill, counties would have to send new notices to all registered voters who do not have a driver's license or state identification card.

    Voters without identification could cast a provisional ballot. Election officials would then verify the person's eligibility to vote.

    Identification would not be required for early ballots or elections conducted by mail.

    Reform the Electoral College so that the electoral vote reflects the nationwide popular vote for President